Girls of the 90s…Not interested in growing up?

I have noticed a recent surge of strong nostalgia for girlhood of the early 1990s. Most likely this is because I was a young girl in the early 1990s, so it catches my eye, but still, it seems to be popping up everyhere, even NPR.

Zooey Deschanel seems to be the ambassador of this movement with Hello Giggles as a home-base of sorts, exemplified in this interview with Conan O’Brien where Deschanel touches on the most unifying symbol of all: the American Girl Doll.

Is this fixation on nostalgia perpetuated by the arrested development of  Millennials?

I’ll be the first to admit it–I’m totally and completely guilty. Um yeah, so this would be me on a girls trip to NYC, my sophomore year of college:

As a kid I was the proud owner of three American Girl Dolls, a strung-out addict of both Nickelodeon and Nick-at-Nite, and I may or may not have been to a Hanson concert…when I was nineteen (I jumped on this nostalgia train a little early I guess).

If you want to continue the reminiscing, watch Hanson explain the phenomena of 1990s music, start following @90sgirlproblem on Twitter, and check out Rookie Mag.

Leave a Reply

