I eat what I eat

Next month will be one year since I stopped buying meat (still buy lots of seafood). I am by no means a vegetarian. I enjoy it when eating at others’ houses or if I’m inclined to order it in a restaurant. I don’t believe in rules, but both Andrew and I have consistently “leaned” in the direction of vegetarianism and now, veganism. I love to cook and above all else I want my food to taste good and make me feel good. Often people (especially within the yoga community) ask me, “Oh, are you a vegetarian/vegan?”

The answer is no, I simply eat what I consider  healthful and I have more and more trouble supporting the industrialized meat industry. That’s where it stops. I have a major problem with all the moral judgments we place on diet.

These photos are from an especially yummy meal I made the other night. Salmon rolls from Lotsa Pasta, chilled avocado soup with cucumber, grape tomatoes, and cilantro, spinach salad, and roasted corn.

many thanks to Joy the Baker for the soup recipe!

About six weeks ago I quit buying eggs, milk,  and butter. However, I can’t even think of giving up parmesan and greek yogurt.

No milk is no problem if you have this for your coffee.

In other words,  I see no point in giving yourself strict rules that ultimately end in a feeling of deprivation. Maybe I’m dense and it took too long to reach this conclusion, but once I did, it’s became easier to sift through all the food chatter.

The more I cook, the more I love it. Our trip to Jungle Jim’s this weekend was heaven…and of course we bought tons of wonderful cheese:

Happy eating!

4 Comments

  1. I’m with you on this. Since I read recent news reports about red meat meaning early death (yikes!) I’ve stopped eating it unless it’s going to be really, really good. So I eat a lot more chicken and seafood. I choose other things other than red meat at every opportunity, unless it’s something I really want – a really great steak or perfect bacon. No more quick cheeseburgers at the McDonald’s drive through. I’ve eaten far too much red meat by simply not being mindful. Guess what? I don’t miss it.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Graylin, have you ever been to see where your food comes from? There’s lots of chicken houses in Harrison County. Check them out. I’d love the opportunity to change your mind about the “industrialized” production of beef, compared to those chicken houses. Kansas would only be a short 600 mile drive; please come see us sometime and judge for yourself about how this all works. In the meantime, “Kaw Valley Limousin” is on Facebook………check us out and “like” for regular updates..

    Like

    Reply

    1. I will go over to Facebook now and check it out!

      I know that there are many sources of meat that are not “industrialized” in the way I might think. Luckily there are plenty of resources here in the area. However, I do not feel deprived at all by not eating meat, I actually feel pretty good. I also have some moral issues with it and my family’s history of heart disease has also played into it a bit. I know there are many great sources out there, but for me personally, I just choose not to buy it.

      I still eat it happily when offered!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

