Vegan Banana and Toasted Coconut Muffins

I made these last week and they were (surprisingly) so good! After reviewing my resolutions, I am back on the baking train. I started off with this recipe, but made so many changes that I consider these muffins an original creation.

I have been experimenting with vegan baking for a couple of years and concluded that there is one secret weapon to success:

Everything is better with a little coconut oil, but mostly it adds a richness that is woooonderful.

The other secret to these muffins is toasting your coconut:

Recipe:

  • 2 cups whole wheat white flour (I’m assuming that these could easily be gluten free as well if you substituted coconut flour for the whole wheat)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  •  1/2 cup coconut oil (melted)
  •  1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 2 very ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1 cup toasted unsweetened coconut 
First, toast your coconut in a skillet over medium high heat. Watch it carefully, it can burn in two seconds!
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Spray muffin tin with cooking spray
Whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, & cinnamon in a large bowl.
Combine mashed banana, oil, sugar, vanilla, & almond milk in a medium bowl. Add to dry mixture.
Fold in toasted coconut.
Spoon into muffin tin, filling them up about three quarters.
Bake for about 20 to 25 minutes (another secret: NOT overcooking these)
Enjoy!
2 Comments

  1. These look really delicious! I’m on board with anything involving toasted coconut.

    I’m gluten free and coconut flour might work, but I would probably do 1/2 coconut flour and 1/2 almond meal. That’ll give it a texture that’s most similar to wheat flour. Thanks for the great recipe!

    Like

    Reply

  2. These look great! I’ve been on a banana muffin kick lately and glad to find your blog. :-) I definitely want try out this recipe soon, I love all things coconut!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

