apricot chutney recipe

I love Indian food…especially all the different chutneys. Mint chutney on pappadums is by far my fave and I am so jealous of Mom and Lis who recently got to eat probably the best I’ve ever had.

Made up a batch of apricot chutney last week. Here’s my recipe. Sorry there are no amounts on anything…I never measure anything when I’m cooking and I didn’t think about blogging this recipe until after the fact!

Don’t worry, you can’t mess it up.

a bunch of fresh apricots, pits removed and roughly chopped
handful of currants
half a yellow onion
chopped garlic
chopped ginger
red chili pepper flakes (however many you want, but watch out, they can get HOT real quick)
generous splash of red wine vinegar
generous glug of extra virgin olive oil
salt & pepper to taste
decent amount of water

Set a medium saucepan on the stove w/ heat on medium high…glug in your olive oil. Dice onion and add. Let onions sweat a good while, getting very soft & translucent. Add garlic, ginger, & red pepper flakes.

Let sweat a couple minutes more, being careful that the garlic and ginger do not burn…I stir constantly.

Add apricots and currants.

Add vinegar & water. Stir.  Reduce heat to low and forget about it. I let mine cook on the stove for a few hours…until it is reduced, thick, and melted.

MmmmMMMMmmmMMMMmm…basically this is savory/spicy preserves. Yummers.

I put it on crackers or on sandwiches. You would be amazed how easily this can elevate a boring grilled cheese.

2 Comments

  1. I found your blog thru punky in the city. And I’m liking what I see (so far) I plan on sticking around via following!

    I hope you’ll check out my blog. I’m also on twitter @mtasha1 and instagram wanderlust1_

    Like

    Reply

    1. Awww thank you! i love her–she’s great!

      Thanks so much for stopping by, it’s weird because I’ve been checking out yours this am! Look forward to reading more!

      Xoxoxo

      @graylinsample

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

