life is better (I guess) with these podcasts…

IMGP8139

Talk of the Nation, Fresh Air, The Diane Rehm Show, On Point, Q, Radiolab, Filmspotting, Two Gomers Run for Their Lives, Nerdist, Intelligence Squared and more.

Okay. So those are some podcasts that I truly enjoy almost every day. I learn a lot and I feel mentally stimulated.  And then there are these:

The Joy the Baker podcast

NPR Pop Culture Happy Hour

Slate Culture Gabfest

Double X Gabfest

I don’t like to say that I “hate-listen” to these shows, but I’m afraid it’s kind of true. Every week I find myself simultaneously annoyed and amused. They almost always incite a rant that begins with something “OMG I can’t believe these people!?!?!?!” So….WHY do I keep listening? I have lots of interest in the topics,, yet I often disagree so strongly with the hosts’ opinions that I find myself wanting to pull my hair out. It’s like being at a dinner party with no ability to interject and voice one’s opinion!

I mean, c’mon…an endorsement of banana pudding: “the ultimate summer dessert concoction of bananas, pudding, Nilla wafers, and whipped cream” or an in-depth analysis of Nicki Minaj’s judging technique on America Idol?!

However, it might not be so bad to listen to the viewpoints that differ from your own…I suppose it’s good for me…

Do you “hate-listen” to podcasts/talk radio?!? Am I the only one?!

Leave a Reply

