Yoga: Summer 2013

Photo Apr 15, 6 45 11 PM
Yoga. I’m planning on doing and teaching a whole bunch of it this summer. I plan to study as much as possible, i.e. read a bunch from these books and try to practice (in some form) every day. 

I’m adding a couple new things to my schedule at the studio  and I’m going to be teaching a couple classes in Louisville as well! What I’ve finally learned this year (especially since discovering YogaGlo) is that this practice is not linear. You have great days, okay days, and down right crappy days. Aches and pains (dang left hip!) can force you to focus on things you don’t naturally gravitate towards (backbending) and that is a good thing. I’ve officially left the Ashtanga vinyasa system for straight up vinyasa classes with Iyengar mixed in. Don’t get me wrong, I still love Ashtanga and would practice it regularly if I lived near this teacher, but I don’t, so my virtual instructors Kathryn Budig, Tiffany Cruikshank, Christina Sell, and Dice Iida-Klein along with various local teachers have taken over.

I look forward to a summer full of yoga with a little bit of Ashtanga thrown in there (I mean, come on Kino Macgregor is going to be at Yoga East again!) However, I am not going to give myself any specific yoga goals for the summer (I know, crazy right?!). I am just going to take it one day at a time.

If you’re a local reader and want to come practice with me, here’s my teaching schedule:

2nd & 4th Monday 5:45pm – 7:00pm Restorative Yoga

Tuesday 9:00am – 10:00am Yoga II *starts May 28th

Tuesday 6:00 – 7:00 pm Yoga for Healthy Living

Wednesday 4:00 – 5:00pm Yoga II 

Thursday 6:00 – 7:00 pm Yoga for Healthy Living

Saturday 9:30 – 10:30 am  Flow Yoga

In addition to these ongoing classes, I’ll be offering three workshops, which will be $15.00

Strengthen Your Core                Saturday, May 25   11:00am – 12:30pm
Upper Body and Arm Strength    Saturday, June 1     11:00am – 12:30pm
Developing a Home Practice        Saturday, June 15   11:00am – 12:30pm

Hope to see you soon if you feel like yoga-ing in Kentuckiana!

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

