the chocolate is gone..i.e I’m going to read instead of playing Candy Crush

2013-07-27 16.50.53

I need to do more of this.

So far I’ve read twenty books this year. Not bad, but there are way too many I want to read and this Candy Crush business has GOT TO STOP. For the past three weeks or so (okay, maybe a month) every night is the same…we sit on the couch with iPads and phones playing that ridiculous game or tweeting or browsing the internets while watching either The Wire or Orange is the New Black. Both excellent shows. However, I haven’t read ANYTHING.

Unacceptable.

So, yesterday I deleted Candy Crush from both my phone and iPad. It’s gone. Late yesterday afternoon, I sat done with a book, a glass of wine, and actually read words on a page. Victory.

Since I’m back to work now, I’m all obsessed with my Google calendar and have decided to get real technical about this. Tasks = deadlines for books I’m reading. Anal retentive I know, but I will succeed if there is a deadline staring me down.

Here’s what I’ve added to the calendar:

The True Deceiver by Tove Jansson
Harvard Square by Andre Aciman

Some books for work:

Splendors & Glooms by Laura Amy Schlitz
Wonder by R.J. Palacio

Let’s do this.

 

Leave a comment