a good feeling

2013-10-16_1381958994
Yesterday, we made the final payment on our graduate school loans. Ahhhhhhhhh….that’s me breathing a sigh of relief. We didn’t have an insurmountable amount, but it was something for sure. Both Andrew and I absolutely hate having any debt, so it was tough to borrow the money in the first place. While it has been a great thing professionally for Andrew, I have yet to reap any financial benefits from my master’s in modern & contemporary literature…who knew?!?! Haha, just kidding.

However, when we initially took out out loans, I knew it was just as much for the experience of living in Edinburgh, Scotland than for the education. It was a wonderful year for us. I value my education very much, but if we hadn’t lived there, who knows if I would have found yoga. It was in Edinburgh that I started practicing seriously and discovered ashtanga. Big, big thank you to Bristo Yoga Studio, now Meadowlark Yoga for giving me a fantastic start in the practice.

Andrew and I made a promise to one another…that we would do everything in our power to have it paid off before we turned thirty. Well, I turn 29 next month–finished a whole year early! Woohoo! We’ve made many conscious decisions, big and small, that made it possible: no car payments, no cell phone contracts (plug for Virgin Mobile…prepaid smartphones rock my world), renting a small house instead of buying, shopping consignment and IKEA for clothes, furniture, etc, and going vegetarian at home has made a bit of a difference too. Things are good and I’m proud of us.

Also, I want to share this wonderful time-lapse tour of Louisville from Eric Stemen of videobred. 


This video makes me so glad to live back in Kentuckiana during this exciting time for Louisville. Each year we’ve been back, it gets more and more vibrant.

 

 

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

