Where does that one album take you?

CIMG6427

Last night we finally watched The Place Beyond the Pines. I’ve wanted to see it for a long time, given it features Ryan Gosling driving a motorcycle and all. It was alright, but oh dear the song that plays out the very end of the film completely transported me back in time…this song:

It doesn’t matter how many different places I live and where I play Bon Iver’s For Emma, Forever Ago, this album means Stavanger, Norway for me. I discovered it the fall of 2008 and oh boy…the melancholy vibe basically went perfectly with Norwegian winter with less than 4 hours of daylight. It was so “hyggelig” or, cozy.


I sometimes wonder if we’ll ever visit there again. I would love to…but in the mean time, I guess I’ll just queue up this album and visualize myself trudging the mile back (through snow and ice) from the grocery store, laden with shopping bags while Bon Iver warbled away in my headphones.

CIMG6441

 

Leave a Reply

