baconless spinach salad

2013-12-25 15.58.01
Salad. It’s what I always bring to family functions. And the past few holidays I have brought this spinach salad. Now, do I ever make this salad just to have around the house? NO. Why? I have no idea! It’s super easy and good.

I have explained before how I “eat what I eat.” The recipes on this blog will be my own, or adapted from others who I will credit of course. I do not cook with any meat or poultry and very rarely use real butter, creams, or milk. I get a kick out of working with limitations I suppose.

I’m also a terrible baker. A couple years back one of my resolutions was to get better at baking…didn’t really happen. I love cooking because measurements become kind of meaningless. It’s all about what tastes good. I have no patience for exact science…that’s Andrew’s wheelhouse.

I’m looking forward to sharing more recipes this year and I would love to hear your feedback! After photos, find my recipe for this easy to transport, feeds many, baconless spinach salad.

2013-12-25 14.16.582013-12-25 14.18.402013-12-25 14.21.082013-12-25 14.25.172013-12-25 14.31.582013-12-25 14.40.16
Baconless Spinach Salad

1 medium red onion, diced
1 small carton sliced button mushrooms
3 hard-boiled eggs, chopped
a massive amount of fresh spinach
a slightly less massive amount of fresh arugula
a heaping spoonful of minced garlic…that’s right, I do use the minced garlic in a jar and I love it…use 3 garlic cloves minced if you want to go all outheaping spoonful of minced garlic…that’s right, I do use the minced garlic in a jar and I love it…use 3 garlic cloves minced if you want to go all out
kosher salt + course ground black pepper to taste

Saute onion + mushrooms in olive oil over medium high heat. I saute for quite a bit…almost ten minutes. I like them to be super soft, slightly caramelized, and brown. About halfway through this process, toss in your garlic. Right before removing from heat, generous dash of kosher salt. Set aside to cool.

In large bowl, toss both spinach and arugula. Top with eggs and the cooled onions + mushrooms. At this point, you can cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate.

Vinaigrette
all ingredients to taste

extra virgin olive oil + balsamic vinegar (3x as much oil as vinegar)
heaping spoonful of dijon mustard
tablespoon of lemon juice
kosher salt + pepper

Put ingredients in a jar and shake! Taste and make adjustments…I don’t like sweetness in salad dressings, but honey can be a great addition here.

Dump jar over salad and toss!
2013-12-25 15.57.52

Leave a Reply

