Poses 21/52: Pincha Mayurasana

Brandy Arena, Bea Love Yoga

 

Oh boy.

This pose is super duper fancy, looks amazing, and is SO HARD. Can I do the full version? Not yet, but I’m getting there. I had a true breakthrough with it this past weekend. For as long as I’ve been doing yoga, I’ve been taught to attempt the pose this way:

For some reason, the way my pelvis is positioned on my body (and the fact that I’ve got my inversion fear) it is a lot for me to “kick up” into anything.

So, I decided to play and came up with this:

Still am not able to come up with parallel forearms, but hey, BABY STEPS!

After doing some research, I found that Christina Sell already teaches it this way…of course, because she is the best! Skip to 4:52 to see detailed instruction.

 Photo courtesy of Steven Noreyko

Leave a Reply

