Poses 32/52: Salabhasana

10616420_567103710066510_2144891624_n

I’m not even going to pretend. I hate this pose. Really, I do.

I’m not a huge fan of the “belly-down” backbends. I like bow pose okay, but Salabhasana or Locust?! Boo. Because I hate it so much, I tend to avoid it, which means I’m not very “good” at it. This summer, I made myself practice it regularly and, lo and behold, it got easy and less horrible!!?! Duh. Like everything in yoga, it doesn’t get better unless you DO IT.

I do a Google image search on every one of my pose posts and I have to say that this one gave me some of the most varied results…all I can say is, what the what?!

images (1) images posture108 viparita_shalabhasana_by_odie1049-d6ckewb

 

If you need a thorough and more reasonable visual with excellent instruction, check out Yoga Journal’s pose guide here.

Or watch Adrienne give you an eight minute tutorial on it here

Happy lifting….it’s tough to be happy when doing this pose, but try…it probably makes it easier.

Leave a Reply

