finally

imogenheap-289ca3d349e4a378202f3101f60cfd076cae13e2-s40-c85

A new album from Imogen Heap. I’m not sure why, but her brings me back to certain spaces and places like no other.

I have been a huge fan of hers since Garden State featured her band, Frou Frou, on its soundtrack. Ah, that soundtrack takes me back to college like nothing else. However, she also had a solo career. Her second album, Speak for Yourself, was on constant rotation for the year of 2006 when I saw her live at The Orange Peel in Asheville. While it was just her on stage with several towers of electronics, I still say it’s one of the best concerts I’ve ever seen.

I mean, this song. Overplayed yeah, but oh my, so good.

The music I listened to while living in Norway and Scotland is forever burned in my brain. On a typical day, I had headphones on at least 30% of my day. Waiting for the bus, riding the bus, walking to the bus stop, walking to class, walking to work, walking to the grocery, training for a half marathon.

You get the idea. It was a lot of listening to music while staring at everything around me. It was amazing. Imogen Heap’s next album, Ellipse, came out while we were in Norway. Every time I hear this song, I will always immediately be transported back to the summer of 2009, making this walk to work. Hopefully after clicking that last link you don’t lose too many hours to Google Street View Hyperlapse…I sure did. It’s about the craziest/most amazing thing ever.

Well, needless to say, I’m a little excited about her album that comes out today. Can’t wait to see what song I get hooked on next…it’s been too long!

Leave a Reply

