this week in the elementary library

2014-09-22 08.41.01

 

Since last week was basically none existent for me at work…I had a different sub every day! Which means this morning I found the library in the state pictured above. Whoa. Things get a little crazy around this time. In two weeks we’ve got fall break, everyone’s burned out and coughing.

No better time than to start on our spooky Halloween read alouds. Kids love spooky stuff. I don’t read anything truly scary, but things with a subtle level of creep. Started with Lemony Snicket’s The Dark today.

9780316187480_p0_v2_s260x420

This book came out last year and it became an immediate favorite with all my library patrons. We love it’s playful language and Jon Klassen’s illustrations are always amazing. The kids always know them from other favorites like I Want My Hat Back and Extra Yarn. One of my favorite things about Klassen’s illustrations is the color palette. Not the typical colors used in children’s books…they are muted, earth tones most of the time, but it works.

dark1 Dark3 DSC_0381

 

If you want to read this alongside another book, I suggest I Need My Monster by Amanda Noll. That’s what we’re doing this week and the two pair very well together.

 

3 Comments

  1. I’m looking forward to reading the Lemony Snicket book. Glad you posted about it. Another good one (especially for younger readers) is When a Monster is Born by Sean Taylor.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

