top 5 favorite movies

63b169dc512fa84c342af682c2ed35f5

I was so excited to do this post for the October blogging challenge. My family is obsessed with movies and since I was kid, making top ten lists has been something I love to do. At Thanksgiving, we would often take time after dessert and make up lists of top ten favorites, most hated, so-bad-you-love-it, etc, etc.

It’s been years since I’ve made a list of favorites and I had to really sit down and rethink this…especially since I’m only allowed to choose five! Crazy. Of course, I’m leaving a bunch out and very important: these are in no particularly order. Mom and I drove down to West Baden yesterday and finalized this list….here we go!

1. When Harry Met Sally
bfi-00n-hj51

I have watched this movie over and over and over and over. When I was a kid, most of it flew over my head and I still loved it. Now, it makes me laugh even harder. Unfortunately, I can most certainly identify with Sally’s neurotic behavior. I recently learned that “baby fish mouth” during the Pictionary scene was improvised by Bruno Kirby.

Amazing. Whatever you do though, BEWARE of purchasing this movie off iTunes…many of the original songs by Ella Fitzgerald, Harry Connick Jr, and Louis Armstrong are replaced with terrible big band nonsense. It’s a tragedy.

2. A River Runs Through It

river-runs-through-it-660

This is one I watched as a kid and enjoyed, but didn’t come to appreciate it fully until just a few years ago. The first six months we were in Norway, it was cold and dark. As in, the sun didn’t come up until 10am and went back down around 2pm. This is also when I realized that Andrew hadn’t seen many movies that I consider essential. We watched this one and it holds up incredibly well. We both decided that it’s dang near perfect. And I can’t help but think that a baby JGL brings a special something.

3. Waiting for Guffman

waiting-for-guffman_592x299

The funniest movie ever. Period. We rewatched it at the beach last month. 84 minutes of laughing so hard you’re crying.

4. Anne of Green Gables –miniseries produced for Canadian television

anne-of-green-gables

I know this doesn’t really count because it wasn’t released in theaters, but it must be on my list. There is no way to know how many times I watched these VHS tapes as a kid. Picture this: an eight year old me, surrounding by American Girl dolls, markers, paper, a Coke, and a bowl of Chex mix with this playing on the tv. Pretty sure that’s my entire childhood summarized.

5. Steel Magnoliasmagnolias1

I know it’s corny and a little sentimental, but I DON’T CARE. It is amazing. I can put this movie on mute and say every piece of dialogue from start to finish.

I would love to hear your top five! Tweet me today!

image credit

 

One Comment

Leave a Reply

