The Burning House

I found The Burning House last year, forgot about it, then stumbled back across it recently. Such a cool idea! It’s a tumblr that features submissions from people all over the world, photographing the items they would save if their house was burning.

Of course I had to make my own:

My list:

  • teddy bear I gave to my Grandmother at age three–she returned it right before she died seven years ago
  • framed origami heart out of The Beatles, “All You Need is Love.” sheet music. Purchased at street fair in Notting Hill
  • Autographed, first edition copy of Jeffrey Eugenides’ novel, The Virgin Suicides. My favorite book.
  • crab ashtray–once belonged to my Grandmother
  • a Baywatch Barbie tumbler–beloved shared keepsake of my aunt Lis and I
  • Frye Harness Boots — olive green
  • yoga mat
  • iPad
  • whale paperweight –once belonged to my grandmother
  • journal containing lists, ideas, drawings, and moments I don’t want to forget throughout the years

What would you save?

One Comment

  1. what a cool idea! (although if my house really WAS burning, I’d probably have a heart attack and die lol). I’d take a photo album of myself as a toddler (since those pics aren’t digital), but other than that…I;d have a hard time choosing! Probably an antique silver locked box-thing I got from my grandmother, my laptop, an amythyst ring that was a gift, a crystal ashtray a camel stuffed animal with sentimental value and my journal of poems.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment